• September 16, 2021 - February 7, 2022

    Deutsche Bank’s
    Artists of the Year 2021

A decade ago, Deutsche Bank initiated the Artist of the Year program. On the occasion of this anniversary, three artists are now receiving this award concurrently: Maxwell Alexandre (Brazil), Conny Maier (Germany), and Zhang Xu Zhan (Taiwan). Selected on the recommendation of the curators Hou Hanru, Udo Kittelmann, and Victoria Noorthoorn, these three absolutely independent and unique artistic positions are presented at the PalaisPopulaire. They all have in common that they conquered the art world without being trained at an art school. From very different perspectives, the artists look at the human condition and reflect on elementary, global themes such as community, spirituality and the relationship to nature.